thought overload

Oh, hello blog, this is what you look like…I remember you!

I have been thoroughly overwhelmed of late. University assignments, children going back to school and now the rain. Again.

It has been raining non-stop since Monday and looks like it is set in until Wednesday next week. We have had storm warning after storm warning and looks like there will be extreme weather events in the next few days. Welcome to South East Queensland, bring your gumboots and wet weather gear! There have been news broadcasts of people attempting to drive through flood waters, tourists playing tennis on flooded tennis courts and children rescued from raging torrents.

Here at Chez Vix, we are safe and away from the flash flooding. Roads are closed all around us and the poor neighbours had a tree split in half and squash their car. It’s wet, wild and woolly.  Fun times. The gloominess is getting to me, I do not do well with this weather.

Here are my top stress-busters , mental notes and conversations  for this week:

  1. Get out of your pyjamas and force yourself to take the children to school. Brush your hair.
  2. Smile and say hello to everyone, even though you look like a wet, absent-minded crazy woman who just got out of her pyjamas.
  3.  Get out the slow cooker and serve dumplings with everything. Satisfied bellies in wet weather = peace and quiet.
  4. Dumplings are a new food group, you can put anything in them. Left over ricotta is a winner, ask The Princess, she doesn’t like dumplings but ate these ones.
  5. Keep one room tidy. Pick a room, clean and tidy it and retreat there when you feel overwhelmed.
  6. Do not think about the electricity bill as you are shoving another load of washing in the tumble dryer. Just get the washing done.
  7. Star eating breakfast for once in your life. In fact, start eating properly. Crackers and fruit are not a nutritious diet.
  8. Drink more water than coffee.
  9. Do not think of looming deadlines for assignments and massive reference lists piling up. Do not even think about the Case Study for next Semester. Just keep plugging away daily and worry about the 5000 word count when you finish. Cull is a lovely word, short is not.
  10. The children will have everything they need for school by next week and so will you. The term ‘catch-up’ was coined for a reason.
  11. Playing Uno with Master 6 is a study break NOT procrastination.
  12. The clutter on the bench and piles of paperwork will find a home after your assignments are finished.
  13. The back to school expenses are astronomical but don’t the children look lovely in their new school uniforms and shoes? We can grocery shop next week ( see #4: Dumplings are a new food group).
  14. Laugh. Keys locked in the car and holding a torch in the rain for hubby ( while in your pyjamas) at 1am so he can break in  IS funny. No one saw you. Only crazy people are up at that time. And shift workers and people who are shift workers and have locked their keys in the car. And you.
  15. It’s  amusing, not sad, that there are still Christmas decorations laying around the house.
  16. Do not lament about children leaving home – they come back.
  17. Make pancakes for breakfast this weekend. Bieber loves pancakes and his girlfriend just broke up with him.
  18. Realise that you should have done Bachelor of Education Primary with all the extra schoolwork help for The Princess. Could have got a credit on that alone.
  19. Rejoice that you have dodged Homeschooling  once again.
  20. Do not feel bad when you have been caught repeating yourself, or forgetting conversations with Red. It evens out the times when he has ignored you and dismissed your words.
  21. Hearing ‘I love you’ or ‘Mum, we can’t take you anywhere’ or ‘This is why we can’t have nice things’ cancels out all the bad stuff. I do try. Sometimes I get it right. Other times I break things and spill food on my clothes.
  22. When Bieber says ‘Wow Mum, we’ve been having all the foods I like’, smile. It’s golden.
  23. Stop watching late night TV. Laying in bed, staring at the ceiling is more entertaining.
  24. Remember to take your phone off silent before bedtime. Alarms will not wake you up with no sound.
  25. Plan to do one nice thing for everyone in the family each week so that they feel special, including myself.

It is Australia Day tomorrow and while most of the festivities have been cancelled due to rain, I have planned an indoor BBQ. The children have the day off school and I plan to spend it with them.

I was a tad disappointed that Denise or Bruce Morcombe didn’t receive Australian of the Year 2012 after everything they have been through and their tireless energy and support for other parents of missing children. Congratulations to Geoffrey Rush, another great Queenslander and a fan-bloody-tastic speech. I wonder who wrote it.

Happy Australia Day to all my fellow Aussies. Stay safe and dry to all my fellow Queenslanders.

English: The Flag of Australia flying over Pea...

Image via Wikipedia

 

 

Comments on: "Overwhelmed in more ways than one" (30)

  1. Goodness, I’d look at that list and stay in my PJ’s! Perhaps a shorter a list would seem less daunting. It would for me!

  2. glad to hear you’ve dodged homeschooling again! keep the faith – the rain will end! (you’ve got to believe…)

  3. Hang in there. You can do this.

  4. That’s some list!
    Glad you are safe from the flooding, we are too (at the moment), up on the Fraser Coast although the rivers are rising fast. We are preparing for a wild and wet weekend though. Stay safe, and enjoy Australia Day in spite of the wet!

    • Yes Barb, I thought it would grow legs and run away. I am so glad you are safe from the flooding too at the moment. Hubby just said it’s going to rain like a #$%^& this weekend here too. My sister in Lismore will be canoeing in her front paddock again this weekend.
      Happy Australia Day, as I write this we are about to have a BBQ lunch, the rain has stopped and neighbours are furiously mowing their lawns!

  5. Jane Thorne said:

    Oh Danielle I laughed out loud so many times through your list…keep trucking on as you are doing great…love Jane x

  6. You are an ambitious woman. But maybe making a list helps you sort out what needs to be done and what can wait.

    • This list was therapy for me and yes, it does definitely help clarify and put things in perspective. Sometimes I think I am atrocious to myself and that one day my body will mutiny. I like ambition, it insinuates hope 🙂

  7. Vix – It’s amazing how you and I can live Continents away, I in Houston, Texas, you in Queensland, and still have relatively close matching lists! I don’t have the same number of kids and my little one is only in school 2 days a week, so I really DON’T know that much about school, but many of the other items are the same. Just goes to show that we are all a little alike no matter where we come from! Great job!!!!

  8. Jane Thorne said:

    Dear Danielle I hope this helps rather than adds to your load but I thought you deserved the recognition so I am passing the 7 x 7 Link Award on to you…here’s the link…
    http://wp.me/p1l7Si-v0
    Love, Jane

  9. I have one thing to say to you – give me back my list!!!!

    No, not quite – I am not studying – but I was years ago, so I know where you are at right now!

  10. Vix, I’ve been out of too. Haven’t read many blogs and feel terrible about it! But what’s a guy to do. Congrats on your list. So many worthy things! 🙂 Blessings, my friend!

  11. johnlmalone said:

    great advice from a fellow Aussie; we were caught up in the Queensland floods last year being stranded at Rockhampton for weeks while the river level rose and rose and rose …. but at least we were in no immediate danger

    • I had a friend caught in the Rockhampton floods too John. Cut off for weeks. I’m glad you were ok though, Mother Nature can be so wonderful yet,so very brutal. Go the Aussies!!!

  12. When I feel overwhelmed with everything I try the ‘on my deathbed will I care about this’ question. It helps to put what’s important and what’s not back into focus. But it is a constant challenge not to feel overwhelmed by the amount of things that need to be done every day. And thanks for following my blog.

  13. I’ve just nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. You can find the details by following this link. Congratulations – well deserved.

    http://maturestudenthanginginthere.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/bang-that-gong-everyone/

  14. I wanted to mention that I miss your posts! I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud