thought overload

The Princess no more?

The Princess is growing up.

Gone are the days of tutus accompanying bikini tops.

Gone are the dolls and dress ups.

Gone are the times when she would throw herself across my lap and promptly ask, ‘ Can you tickle me, Mum?’, with hand outstretched.

Gone are the headbands.

No ‘frou frou’ for this girl. It’s no frills all the way now accompanied with cries of, ‘I’m too old for that now, Mum’.

Last night, however, a small glimpse of the little girl reappeared. My little pig-tail wearing, bunny slippered girl in the pink satin pajamas poked her head out for, what I believe will be, the last time.

The Princess had decided to give up her rather large room for  her sister and new niece, to accommodate everything needed for a three-month old baby ( did I really have that much stuff?). With the room exchange finally complete, and with several wrong turns followed by ‘Oh my God! That’s not my room anymore!’, night came and, there was a sudden realisation that set in. I watched The Princess avoid the ‘new room’ at all costs. Fussing and fiddling with her bed time routine led to mock-sleeping on the couch.

Finally, a whisper in my ear, ‘Mum, will you sleep with me tonight? I don’t like my curtains’.

I got my little girl back, even if just for one more night.

Comments on: "The Princess no more?" (10)

  1. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh xxxx

  2. Watching them grow up can be so bittersweet!

  3. Awww… Time goes so fast…

  4. […] The Princess no more? (stayoutofmyhead.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterMoreEmailStumbleUponDiggLinkedInRedditPinterestTumblrLike this:Like2 bloggers like this post. This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged beauty, Dolls, family, fashion, Girl, Grande Prairie, Grandma, Imogen, Nipawin Saskatchewan, parenting, Princess, Saskatchewan, Shopping, stereotypes by EduDad. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

